Veni Vidi Vici

I was quickly walking Stone to school this morning and thinking of all the things I have to do with packing and our trip back home. I looked up and I was walking down a side street with old doors and crumbling brick buildings and I started really looking around again. It’s funny how a trip begins with the unknown of planning and then you get to your destination with all the excitement and anticipation/fear of a new journey sets in. As these past 3 months have gone by its amazing to see how we have slowly created the schedule of our daily Italian life. I guess what I’m getting at is that when I was sitting at home before we left daydreaming about Italy it seemed so new, out there and exotic… Like a movie. Now we’re here and I find myself going about my daily routine and not acknowledging the amazing things around me. Hopefully I will be able to take this insight and be able to see all the amazing things happening back home and not get too wrapped up in the everyday stresses.

While we were here we didn’t have a TV or some other comforts of home. But one amazing thing about not having all the distractions around were the times where I got to sit and think or watch the boys play. If I were home and the boys were napping or I had some down time there would always be something to fill my time. The past few months I would actually take a nap at the same time as the boys or just sit and not do anything. Another time in our daily lives when I feel like I get wrapped up in things and don’t ever relax or tell myself it’s okay to take a nap and not be productive. Here in Italy it almost feels like that’s what I’m supposed to be doing. Since everything in the city closes between 1 and 4 for the afternoon “Siesta” it’s like giving you approval to relax or nap. Maybe it’s just me but I feel like in the US there is always a feeling of guilt if you take vacation day or take a break to relax.

I guess that’s one of the big life goals… To be in the moment and enjoy life. I think this Italian trip has gotten our family one step closer to realizing that.

Leave a Reply

